United Kingdom and Ireland

Jump to: Schools  |  Further Education  |  Higher Education  |  Apprenticeships  |  Non Traditional  | Awarding Organisations



Many schools have been part of Networking Academy (NetAcad), typically offering IT Essentials, and some CCNA Routing & Switching, both are two broadly adopted courses. With the evolution of NetAcad's portfolio, is has made several Exploratory courses available. These courses are easier to adopt, as they don't have specific qualification requirements, Teachers (or Instructors as they are called within NetAcad) can use the courses to teach their students. Examples of these Exploratory courses are Get Connected, Introduction to Cybersecurity, and Introduction to IoT.


Cisco Networking Academy is currently piloting a new course, Computing for Schools, specifically developed for Schools in England, that have to teach the new Computing curriculum. The current version of the course covers all of the learning outcomes of the "Communication & Networks"strand as defined in the Computing Progression Pathways document published by Computing At School (CAS). This version is currently being improved and expanded, so that schools can adopt it in the coming Academic year.


If you would like to learn more about the new Computing for Schools course please read follow this link


Back to top


Further Education

Under development. Please come back soon.


Back to top


Higher Education

Cisco based programmes exist within undergraduate and postgraduate courses in the UK. Many computing and network engineering programmes fully incorporate our courses and certifications within their degrees.


Some Further Education colleges also offer higher education programmes in partnership with different universities. It is worth checking with your local college to discover if this is available.


The following Universities currently offer Cisco certification based programmes:

Anglia Ruskin University
Aston University Engineering Academy
Birmingham City University
Bournemouth University
Coventry University
Edinburgh Napier University
Glasgow Caledonian University
Glyndwr University
London Metropolitan University
London South Bank University Academy
Manchester Metropolitan University
Middlesex University
Newman University College, Birmingham
Northumbria University
Oxford Brookes University
Plymouth University
Robert Gordon University
Sheffield Hallam University
Southampton Solent University
Staffordshire University
The Open University
The University of Bolton
The University of Salford
University of Bedfordshire
University of Cambridge
University Of Central Lancashire
University of Derby
University of Essex
University of Glamorgan
University of Gloucestershire
University of Greenwich
University of Hertfordshire
University of Northampton
University of Sunderland
University of the West of Scotland
University of Ulster at Jordanstown
University of Wales Trinity Saint David


Back to top



Under development. Please come back soon.


Back to top


Non Traditional

Networking Academy partners with less traditional institutions that are not traditional Education establishments. A few Social Enterprises, Foundations, and Charities have created their own Cisco Academies.


In the UK there is a long lasting partnership with the Ministry of Justice in the context of Prison ICT Academy (PICTA), an education initiative managed by the National Offenders Management Service (NOMS). Through this partnership, prisons can adopt Networking Academy to help develop relevant skills relevant to the market.


Back to top



Awarding Organisations

TLM Logo

The Learning Machine

The Learning Machine (TLM) is an agile and innovative Awarding Organisation founded on the principles of open source and offering pertinent vocational qualifications to meet the ever changing demands of a diverse range of technical industries.  TLM has always worked closely with organisations like Cisco in order to offer qualifications that schools and colleges recognise and that gain government funding and recognition, but with the expertise and resources of vendors and their certification programs to make a double win.


The current range of funded and accredited qualifications offered by TLM in conjunction with Cisco are:

  • TLM Level 2 Open Systems and IT Management. This is a qualification based on the LPI Linux Essentials program and can be gained by using Cisco NetAcad's Linux Essentials course designed by NDG.  The funding for this qualification is up to £1,130 and has DfE Post-16 Performance Points. 



TLM are currently working on a Level 2 CyberSecurity qualification for submission to the DfE's KS4 League Tables for 2019. They are also going to include CCNA Security at Level 3, and the Level 2 Cybersecurity will be underpinned by NetAcad's Introduction to Cybersecurity.


The list of the Qualification Accreditation Numbers (QANs) follows:

NetAcad Course


CyberSecurity Essentials


Networking Essentials


IT Essentials


CCNA 1 (Introduction to Networks)


CCNA 2 (Routing and Switching Essentials)


CCNA 3 (Scaling Networks)


CCNA 4 (Connecting Networks)


CCNA Security



Please contact TLM or Cisco for more details. 


Back to top